top of page

HEALTH & WELLNESS: NATURAL SUMMERTIME SKINCARE

WORDS: KIMORA BROCK

IMAGE: JEFRY ANDRES WRIGHT

Everywhere I go people, always compliment my skin and ask me what products I use. Although it is definitely inherited from my mother, I do everything I can to make sure my skin continues to be healthy. Along with ingesting a diet of mostly raw, organic fruits and vegetables, I also apply vegetables topically as well.

My two favorite things to put on my face are aloe vera and avocado. To achieve perfectly healthy skin, I do a simple homemade face mask 2x a week, and the best part is that you only need one ingredient per mask! With a super busy lifestyle, I need serious simplicity in my beauty regimen. I also love the fact that my masks use ingredients found in nature. There's no chemicals or weird combination of ingredients. And what is nature, if not perfect?

To make an aloe vera mask, take one aloe vera leaf and cut it in half so that the fleshy filet inside is fully exposed. Score the filet to increase surface area before rubbing the aloe all over your face. Let it sit for as long as you’d like and just rinse away with filtered water. Honestly, I will leave it on when I use makeup as a layer of protection for my skin. It enhances skin cell growth and adds moisture which is essential to keeping a youthful appearance.

The second face treatment I do provides all of the nutrients to nourish your skin. Avocados contain 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins, and folic acid. After you make your kale and avocado salad (a favorite lunch staple of mine), keep the skin of the avocado! There is usually more than enough avocado left on the inside of the skin to put on your face. Apply the avocado to clean skin and massage it in. Let it dry and leave it on overnight. In the morning, rinse your face. To seal in the beneficial nutrients from the mask, massage a few drops of coconut oil into your face. While you’re letting it sit, soak a wash cloth in hot water. Finally, ring the excess water out and lay the wash cloth on your face for a steaming effect for about 30 seconds. Wipe the excess oil away for radiant skin that will be better protected from the elements. Using coconut oil is especially beneficial if you live in a harsh climate (think high pollution, cold wind, dry air, etc).

So there you have it! Natural, inexpensive and effective skin care for both men and women, perfect for the summertime.

Love and light,

Kimora

Want more get-your-glow-on advice? Check out Kimora's thoughts on:

bottom of page