top of page

art is healing. is art. is healing


WORDS: KIMORA BEE IMAGE: Beverly Price

Growing up I didn’t believe the arts were a feasible career path. As a person of color I didn’t think I (or my family) could afford the luxury of me pursuing a career that is not a guaranteed cash-cow. Even though I was into the arts from a young age, (baby modeling auditioning for disney channel, dance class, music class etc) in HS and college I studied science because I always knew people would need doctors and therefore I would always have money to support my family. Financial tribulations are not something my parents want for me after working so hard to put me in the best schools in the nation. It wasn’t until mid-college where I had a really traumatic experience that forced me to remember everything that made me happy (turns out it's performance arts) and I found wonderful people of color who served as my support and beautiful examples of what will happen when you dedicate yourself to your art!!

Since my degree is in science, here’s the scientific formula: (+)invest in yourself (there are many elements to this, but they boil down to knowledge of self, electric foods, quality energetic absorption, exercise && divine connection) (-)remove the financial fear, (-)societal labels of success, (-)judgments (-) need for approval whatever it is personally for you (learned from knowledge of self) the result is!!! (=) you are in an infinite creative space with the ability to transmute your human experience into art that will surely touch someone else!

💞💞💞 the most important reason we are on this planet is to share our love with others to the best of our ability. 💞💞💞

Earlier this month, my friend @jamalrhen performed a spoken word piece called “healing through the arts” turns out that poem could have been my life thesis. I saw a mural similar to that title in NYC a day ago!! You never know when or how your art will inspire others. SO DO THE WORLD A FAVOR, AND DO YOUR ART.

bottom of page